What*Would*Budda*Do?

I just stopped at Starbucks real quick for a drink; as I’m getting out my car a man pulls up beside me…

“excuse me miss.  I’m trying to gather up the rest of the money to pay for my nine month old baby’s seizure medication….I only need $18 more dollars.  By the graces of God would you be able to help me?”

now first of all as soon as i opened my car door i smelled the weed coming from this man’s car.  and secondly when i stood up and looked inside to see who was talking to me, not only did i not see a car seat; but there was a bunch of pillows in the back seat.  of course there was something that looked like a diaper bag in the front seat though. 

I was hesitant at first to even step towards his car because: its the middle of the night and I’m the only Black person in the middle of a basically empty parking lot…but then i remembered all the stores around me had windows and people inside could see me. 

so i was like “sorry i don’t have any cash on me” *which was true* “let me check my car real quick”  I found like $5 and gave it to him…i just felt really bad that he had to do all that just to get a couple of extra bucks….especially if it was just to get his next fix.

One thought on “What*Would*Budda*Do?

Leave a Reply

