They Told Me Not to Say That

I dig on this music even though their lyrics frequently use those words;  

In the back of my mind I know I should be quite perturbed.

Why should I support you when you’re letting down our people?  Showing your ignorance and letting others think they’re equal; giving them an excuse to call us by names unfitting…

Are we at fault too for not trying to stop you?

The words came so easily so we couldn’t stop ourselves, never quitting.

I dig on this music even though their lyrics frequently use those words

Subliminally putting people in their places, enabling hatred between the races

Putting the objects that were once women and men in their perspective spaces

…It should be that:

I dig on this music even though their lyrics frequently use these words

Fight for world peace and shoot conformists the bird

Go out and learn something so you can preach what you heard.

Music used to have a message or so they say…

It should go back to being how it was back in the day

No longer will we say “I dig on this music even though…”

We’ll just be able to ‘dig…on this music’

 

Leave a Reply

