Preppies versus Hipsters

Bickering Ivy

Not long ago I was referred to as a “hipster” in conversation by a schoolmate.  I was confused and taken aback initially.  This had happened once or twice before.  I had assumed it to be a silly mistake and didn’t give it much thought, but this time I had to get to the bottom of it.  Just what exactly is a hipster?

Wikipedia defines hipsters as “a subculture of young… urban middle class adults and older teenagers… associated with independent music, a varied non-mainstream fashion sensibility, liberal… political views, alternative spirituality… and alternative lifestyles.”

“Hipsters” are associated with indie-rock, independent thinking, counter-culture, progressive politics and rejection of social norms.  Urban Dictionary uses words like “edgy” and “non-traditional” to describe hipsters.  With descriptions like that my confusion became quickly intermingled with concern and even resentment.  I would consider myself to be at the far opposite end of the cultural spectrum.  I resolved to…

View original post 473 more words

Leave a Reply

